top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaula Teresa

Why is Paula in Innsbruck?

Hallo, meine Freunde!

I'm sure you are all dying to know what brought me to this wonderful country of mountains and sunshine. Well, I saw an opportunity, a pretty cool one, I would say. In March I was participating in a short-term voluntary project in Cornwall. I was a fishergirl for a month, I loved it. Yes, fishergirl is a thing. In fact, it's a rather prestigious profession. Anyway, in England I met many austrians, lovely creatures. So, logically what came to my mind next was - I should move to Austria! Ahaha. Actually, in all seriousness, the people really are a major reason why I decided to come here. In addition to all the volunteers from Austria, I met Leo, the project manager at CUBIC. He is a very nice and friendly man. After a brief research, I was convinced that the project with CUBIC is what I should do.

I feel like I left you a little confused about the organisation called CUBIC. So.. what is CUBIC? CUBIC was established in 2005 as a non-profit association to support young people with fewer opportunities to find their passion, develop self-awareness and expand their horizons; this is achieved through delivering innovative international projects that are culturally immersive, educational and unique. CUBIC provides young people with a secure frame and environment of learning, including a clear timetable and daily structure. CUBIC offers opportunities to create experiences which are relevant and rewarding by using the principle of non-formal learning and practical activities, for example outdoor work experience, handicraft and woodworking skills, self-organisation, taking responsibility, development of soft skills, self-confidence, and self-esteem.

Now, since 9th of May, Cubic is hosting their first volunteer in Innsbruck. Whoop-whooop!! Yes, that's me. Happy emoji.

To not drag it too much, I'll tell you about my work assignments next time and hopefully all the information (read: boring stuff) will be delivered soon and I can get to the fun parts. Haha!

Tschüss!



62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page